All Posts

The Best of the Very Best of New Music Friday

Stay fixated as Upper Entertainment shortlists five of the best ‘Afrobeats’ dropped in the release week of Friday, 26th of April, 2024.

Tems – Love Me Jeje

The astonishing Tems needs no introduction: a global superstar and an icon in the making. Temilade Openiyi’s ‘Love Me Jeje’ is her latest offering to fans ( who are in keen expectation of the singer’s debut full-length oeuvre). The ‘Guilty Beatz’ produced track teased at Coachella weeks ago, now makes its official release on streaming platforms. Love Me Jeje dominantly samples the Seyi Sodimu and Shaffy Bello late 90s classic of the same name. Distilled in urban-metered Afro-rhythms, groovy bass/lead guitar melodies, and sweet vocal presets, Tems’ latest earworm is catchy and nostalgic.

Adekunle Gold – Rodo

‘Rodo’ sees AG baby strike gold once more. Adekunle Gold’s ‘Rodo’ is captivating from start to finish, and depicts the singer’s much-appraised versatility. He sings relatable Indigenous lines in pleasant falsettos; a beautiful nuance that makes ‘Rondo’ a standout listen.

10Ten feat Qing Madi – Problem Choke

Popular Artist and Repertoire personnel, Osagie Onabun, better known as 10Ten adds to his musical catalog with the soothing Afro-pop record which features seventeen-year-old fast-rising singer and songwriter Qing Madi. ‘Problem Choke’ will have Listeners riveted by its lyrical and melodic content. The sonic masterpiece allows Madi to shine in her forte while accentuating the importance of collaborations among brilliant minds.

Yimeeka Feat Pheelz – Away

Frequent collaborators, Yimeeka and Pheelz are in their sonic bag with ‘Away’. The single which features in Yimeeka’s latest self-titled project talks about escaping the downside realities of love and passion.

Nnavy, Karun, Msaki, Hendrick SamLet Me (Closer)

In a genius fusion of contemporary jazz, neo-soul, and R&B, Burundi’s Nnavy assembles a brilliant lineup: Kenya’s Karun, South Africa’s Mtsaki, and Music engineer Hendrick Sam for the serotonin ‘Let Me’ off Nnavy and Sam’s collaborative project ‘Closer’.

Honorable mentions: Crayon: ‘If I Be You’,
Ice Prince Feat Odumodublvck and Psycho YP: ‘Untitled’,
Bella Shmurda Feat Bloody Civilian: ‘1999’,
Sjava: ‘Ngibongiseni’,
Rukmani: ‘Unruly’
F3line: ‘Alright’
UAX Feat Tmxo: ‘Nothing Compares

Share this post?

Join Our Community

Do you want to promote your music or brand? We’ve got you covered at The Upper Entertainment

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get updates directly to your inbox

Related Posts